Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In
Excellence in Leadership
Share |


The Live! Casino & Hotel Excellence in Leadership Award, sponsored by Live! Casino & Hotel, recognizes an Anne Arundel County business or individual who has made a significant local impact to our quality of life.


2019 Excellence in Leadership Honoree


Dr. Dawn Lindsay (ELS13), President, Anne Arundel Community College

Dr. Dawn Lindsay is the sixth president of Anne Arundel Community College.

Lindsay has dedicated over 29 years to the community college system. She leads utilizing the philosophy of servitude leadership and believes the foundation for this leadership style requires a strong ethical platform, transparent decision making; the ability to develop collaborative relationships that are mutually beneficial, a commitment to shared governance and an institutional commitment to student success.  

She is an active advocate, representing the needs, values and importance of the community college system at the local, state and national levels. Her unique and diverse background provides a multifaceted understanding of the needs of various stakeholders. She believes in open access, quality and diverse educational offerings and the need to build bridges among, and between, internal and external constituents.

Lindsay serves on national, regional and local boards.  She is a member of the board of directors for the League for Innovation in the Community College, the Homeland Security Academic Advisory Council and the Education Council of the National Association of Manufacturers. Regionally, she is appointed by Governor Hogan to serve on the Governor’s Workforce Development Board.  She also serves on the Fort Meade Alliance Board of Directors and on the board of directors of the Baltimore Washington Medical Center.

Lindsay earned a doctorate in Organizational Leadership from Pepperdine University, a master's in Educational Counseling, a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology, and a Bachelor of Social Work from McDaniel College. 


Excellence in Leadership Award

Past Recipients 

2018:  Tatiana Klein

2017: Steve Schuh, County Executive

2016: Larry and Liz Ulvila

2015: Art Ebersberger

2014:  John and Cathy Belcher

2013:  Tom Marquardt, Capital Gazette Communications

2012:  Maurice Tose, TeleCommunication Systems, Inc.

LAA, a nonprofit 501c3 organization, is the premier leadership training and networking institute in Anne Arundel County since 1993. The Mission of Leadership Anne Arundel is to provide people of diverse backgrounds with education, resources and networks necessary to become successful proactive leaders. LAA inspires, develops and connects community leaders through education, training, information, events and networking. Please support LAA by investing in Membership.
Connect With Us

1910 Towne Centre Blvd, Ste 250

Annapolis, MD 21401