About LeadershipAA

/About LeadershipAA
About LeadershipAA2019-06-26T11:14:18-04:00

What is Leadership Anne Arundel?

Welcome to Leadership Anne Arundel (LAA). LAA, a nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization, is the premier leadership training & networking institute in Anne Arundel County since 1993. LAA has over 1200 graduates from its four (4) core programs; Executive Leadership Series (ELS), Flagship Program (FLG), Neighborhood Leadership Academy (NLA) and the Graduate Fellows Program.



The Value

Don’t take our word for it, click below to read feature articles from LAA Graduates, Stakeholders and Supporters:

Dawn Lindsay: Leadership Anne Arundel is a valuable partner in promoting diversity

Barbara Maxwell: Why get involved? Leadership Anne Arundel can explain.

Margaret B. Davis: Leadership Anne Arundel trains leaders for the arts

Kevin A. Chase: Leadership Anne Arundel provides a home for diverse ideas


The Vision

The vision of Leadership Anne Arundel is to develop and nurture community trustees who improve the quality of life in Anne Arundel County by convening diverse stakeholders, bridging their divides, and facilitating resolutions for the common good.

The Philosophy

BUILD: LAA program participants will develop essential leadership skills, gain an awareness and understanding of county and regional issues, and acquire valuable, hands-on experience.

CONNECT: LAA graduates will have access to a wide range of resources and be part of a diverse network of business, government, and community leaders.

CELEBRATE: LAA will always be on the lookout for examples of exemplary leadership on display throughout our county. This will culminate with LAA honoring and highlighting the accomplishments of leaders throughout the region at our annual Tribute to Community Leadership ceremony and graduation.

CONVENE: LAA will bridge divides by bringing together representatives from all sectors of the community in a collaborative effort to tackle formidable issues.

INNOVATE: LAA will stay on the cutting edge of the Community Leadership field by continually monitoring trends within the industry, re-evaluating our program curriculums, and expanding our program offerings to meet the growing needs of our region.

The Mission

The mission of Leadership Anne Arundel is to provide people of diverse backgrounds with the education, resources and networks necessary to become successful proactive leaders.

Our Notable Leadership Anne Arundel Graduates (View a full list of LAA graduates here)

Karen Adams-Gilchrist(FLG18)   Providence Center, Inc.

Rev. Dr. Carletta Allen(FLG15)   Senior Pastor, Asbury United Methodist Church

EJ Amyot(FLG17)   VP of Operations, The Y of Central Maryland

Jeff Armiger(FLG96)   Regional President, BB&T

Ross Arnett(ELS13)   Alderman, City of Annapolis

Mandy Arnold(FLG18)   President/CEO, Partners In Care, Inc.

Trisha Baldwin(FLG95)   Treasurer, Reliable Contracting

Tori Bayless(ELS07)   CEO, Anne Arundel Medical Center

Pam Beidle(FLG96)   Senator, State of Maryland

Vicki Callahan(FLG96)   Executive Director, Opportunity Builders Inc.

Ned Carey(FLG95)   Delegate, State of Maryland

Robert Clark(ELS14)   CEO, Historic Annapolis Foundation

Rod Cofield(FLG17)   Executive Director, Historic London Town and Gardens

Karen Cook(FLG04)   Dean, AACC School of Business & Law

Ray Crosby(FLG94)   CEO, Crosby Communications

Kim Elek(FLG17)   Co-Founder, McReynolds Elek Communications

Alice Estrada(FLG16)   Executive Director, Annapolis Maritime Museum

Chuck Ferrar(ELS11)   Owner, Bay Ridge Wine & Spirits

Sheila Finlayson(FLG08)   Alderwoman, City of Annapolis

Jeff Griffith(FLG05)   Partner, Alta CPA Group

Janice Hayes-Williams(FLG01)   Director, Dept of Constituent Services, Anne Arundel County

Rick Hutzell(FLG08)   Editor, Capital Newspaper

Jeff & Erin Jacobs(ELS11)   Owners, Carrol’s Creek Café

Aida Keehner(FLG17)   President/CEO, Altruent

Heather Lalor(FLG16)   Partner, TMDL CPAs & Consultants

Travis Lamb(FLG15)   General Manager, Live! Casino & Hotel

Bob Leib(ELS03)   Anne Arundel County School Board

David Lillefloren(FLG18)   Senior Vice President, Exelon Generation

Dr. Dawn Lindsay(ELS13)   President, Anne Arundel Community College

Kathleen Mahar(ELS14)   President, Archbishop Spalding High School

Maureen McMahon(ELS14)   Dep. Superintendent, AA County Public Schools

Vollie Melson(FLG16)   Executive Director, AACC Foundation

John Moeller(ELS12)   Deputy Garrison Commander, Ft Meade

Bob Mosier(ELS13)   Chief Communications Officer, AA County Public Schools

Rob Norton(FLG15)   President, Cordish Global Gaming (Live! Casino & Hotel)

Patrick Nugent(FLG17)   Executive Director, Annapolis Symphony Orchestra

April Nyman(ELS09)   Executive Director, Arts Council of AA County

Karen Olscamp(ELS98)   CEO, Baltimore Washington Medical Center

Midgett Parker(FLG03)   Partner, Linowes and Blocher, LLP

Ed Reilly(FLG03)   Senator, State of Maryland

Brian Riddle(FLG18)   President, Homestead Gardens, Inc.

Marc Rodrigez(FLG17)  Alderman, City of Annapolis

Bill Sanders(ELS12)   Mayor, Highland Beach

Rob Savidge(NLA16)    Alderman, City of Annapolis

Steve Schuh(FLG05)   Former County Executive, Anne Arundel County

Patrick Shurney(FLG10)   Area Executive, First Citizens Bank

Ricky Smith(FLG95)   CEO, BWI Airport

Rick Springer(ELS09)   Regional President, BB&T

Larry Ulvila(FLG95)   Founding Partner, Insurance Solutions

Cathy Vitale(FLG04)   Judge, AA County Circuit Court

Jerry Walker(FLG15)   CEO, Anne Arundel Economic Development Corp

Brian Walter(ELS13)   Regional President, M&T Bank